In the beginning…

Standard

This post is about my early organizers and planners.

Most likely, it goes without saying that for all my life I have used a calendar and an address book. Let’s just say I have always had some strange enjoyment of writing things down. Mind you, not important things like school work, but things in general. I have always loved to write. (Am today painfully aware of not writing as much as should have for many years and am now (happily so) making up for lost time with too many blogs at once).

Back to calendars and address books…

I recall in high school, my Granma had purchased for me a lovely hardback address book cover with a spiral bound address book inside. It has a lovely sort of foreign-exotic design on it, and because I am the way I am, I have kept it (although now empty) for all these years.

address book cover from granma

address book cover from granma

The other thing I always had in high school was one of those little monthly planners you could get at Hallmark stores (do they still exist?) or bookstores. In this, I always wrote little cryptic notes in the tiniest writing. Additionally, I have kept a journal for as long as I can remember (standard issue, black-and-white-speckled-cover composition book).

little Hallmark-type monthly planner

little Hallmark-type monthly planner

One day, I began working in a retail shop and on my lunch hours I loved to browse at other nearby retail shops. During one of these ventures, I found a very fine Liz Claiborne cover with a spiral-bound address book inserted on one side and a calendar on the other. As the years passed, I continued to fill the calendar side with those little Hallmark-type calendars.

Later on, enter the business world – administrative position. I had this really cool job which looking back I still love to this day and one of my responsibilities was…. drum roll..  wait for it…. office supply orders. Bliss. Anyway. This came with a really cool thing called a Catalog (do they still exist?) and I was happily perusing the calendar and hyper-organized-type stuff one day and there it was. A leather, ring-bound planner. A few choices in sizes and what have you but the one that stole my heart at Hello was what we all know as a personal size leather planner.

my first ring-bound planner...

my first ring-bound planner…

Here is the funny bit. It was a real gem. Incredibly high-quality black leather in the thickness that we know today as the compact.  This binder was pure class and not one ounce of cheese. Why does this baffle me today?  Because it was a DayRunner binder.  I vaguely recall some odd cross-breeding experiment where perhaps they owned another company or another company owned them, but what I ended up with was a beautiful and most perfect planner that I still have today, but sadly, it doesn’t work anymore because the ring mech finally ate through the leather and gave way but there is just no way I can toss-bin this thing away. All that said, this organizer was truly where it all began.

it was a DayRunner!

it was a DayRunner!

I had never even heard of a Filofax at this time. This DayRunner was like $50 (back then!!) and I saved and saved for it and when I had saved enough I finally ordered it. It came with those DayRunner grey and maroon lined pages that they always had (do they still exist?) and I began squeezing every morsel of life in there. I inspired countless others with my Awesome Index pages. These were sheets inserted in my A-Z tabs, with cool subjects such as Auto (license plate number, insurance company contact info and policy number, tire size, contact info and account number for auto loan); Medical (insurance company contact info and account number, doctors, etc.) and Utilities (all the contact info and account numbers for each). OK, OK, you get the point.

This lovely little binder went most everywhere with me and because it was that delightful “compact” size it was never a burden. I think back then, because mobile phones weren’t attached to our hands, I didn’t feel compelled to have my organizer with me when I just went out because I wasn’t going to call anyone. It was more of a Container of Information, rather than a place where I would scribble random notes.

Many years later, I encountered the Filofax.  My boss had one, it was a black A5 size and it was lovely – completely captivating –  and now the Internet was abound so I got online and began my shopping. Fortunately there was a sale on one of these pricey beauties so I ordered a beautiful green Epping Filofax in personal size. This was 1998. To this day, I regret ever letting it go, but I know in my heart someone loves it today.

From there, the Filofax journey continues and I have never used another brand of ring-bound planner. I have looked around and never found another of interest because of the beauty, intimacy, and the inspiring quality of the Filofax.

I am extremely grateful that I have had (and still do have some of) what I consider to be the best of the best models of Filofax. But let’s save those for another post : )

Leave a Reply

